jovina cooks

What happens when you’re having guests for dinner and one or two of them are vegetarian?

Some preparation beforehand can ensure that your vegetarian guests will enjoy the evening as much as your other guests.

Ask your dinner guests exactly what they do or do not eat.There are different types of vegetarians. Don’t be afraid to ask specific questions and what options are safe to serve.

Lacto vegetarians eat non-meat animal products, e.g. dairy (milk, gelatin-free yogurt, butter, rennet-free cheese) and honey, but no fish, chicken, meat, or gelatin.

Lacto-ovo vegetarians eat eggs in addition to dairy products, but no fish, chicken, meat, gelatin, or cheese that contains rennet.

Vegans avoid eggs, dairy products, honey, meat, gelatin and animal-derived ingredients. Many vegans also do not eat foods that are processed using animal products.

Pescetarians aren’t vegetarians but eat seafood and a mostly vegetarian diet. 

Read the labels: Some curry pastes…

View original post 3,099 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s